One of those days!

Standard

Have you ever had one of those days where nothing goes as planned? Yep, that was me today. I had great intentions of getting lots of sewing done, as well as starting laundry and making a run to the grocery store. Nope, not one of those things happened.

I mucked around all morning and finally decided a shower would get me rolling. Fortunately , I made it that far. As soon as I finished getting my hair dried the phone rang and I had to rush to the emergency room to attend to this…

After the fall...

After the fall…

My mother had been getting ready to bowl with her league friends when she became entangled in the straps of a bag that still contained a bowling ball and down she went…right on her face. She also injured her hand and knee, although there were no broken bones. Thank goodness! She got her first ambulance ride, which she described as very bumpy! And now she is bummed because she probably won’t recover in time to return to her team before the end of bowling season! It’s hell to get old, I tell ya!

I do have some quilty news to share though. In spite of my rough day. Last weekend I nearly doubled my stash in one fell swoop by attending a couple of “garage/estate” sales. One was a true estate sale and there was fabric galore. Granted much of it wasn’t the $12  per yard variety, but there were LOTS of pretty nice cuts if one was willing to look. They were selling by the pound. $6/LB. ON Saturday and $3/lb. On Sunday. I bought so much I could barely lift the HUGE bags the generously supplied on Saturday. And on Sunday,well,let’s just say I need help to my car….

I went to a second sale of a gal who was downsizing to live in a motor home. YIKES, I’m not sure I could ever be convinced to do such a thing. Hopefully she adores hand work! Anyway, her fabric was the $12/yd. Variety and I scored tons of 30s prints and tons of primitive plaids. I have neither in my stash. As I LOVE all fabric, it was a heavenly weekend!

In addition to all of the fabric I also bought several very nice quilting books, some antique quilting magazines from the sometime before the 1950s, and lots of scraps! My favorite. Two big bins and a garbage bag full. $5 each! Here are the started projects from the scraps. I can’t contain myself…I keep dreaming up ideas for all this fabric. I’m soooo obsessed!

Low volume log cabines

Low volume log cabins

Vintage black background floral with scalloped borders

Vintage black background floral 9 patches with scalloped borders

The floral 9 patch blocks will also have some sort of applique on the corners of the scalloped borders, haven’t figured that part out yet though. A good project for the upcoming bus trip with my guild friends. We’re going to Paducah!

Sew on, everyone!

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

