2015 … Off to the Races

Standard

Having traveled to Europe for the holidays, getting good and sick while there, getting my kids through finals, and dealing with my ailing mother I am quite impressed with myself for getting a project finished so quickly. Okay, it definitely wasn’t the most challenging project, and baby quilts are pretty small, but still!

Pink and gray for a new baby girl

Pink and gray for a new baby girl

With pretty flowers on the back

With pretty flowers on the back

I do love it. I got the inspiration for the design from a blogger I follow…3 and3 quarters. The quilt is destined for the new baby girl my husband’s niece is expecting in March. The first great-grand baby on his side of the family.

I haven’t really gotten into any other projects yet since getting back from vacation. I am mostly contemplating how to quilt a couple of tops I have lying around. Deciding on a quilting design seems to be my biggest challenge when making a quilt. I feel as though a wrong decision at this point could be fatal (not literally of course), so I often drag my feet for far to long.

Our quilt guild is having its annual winter retreat in a little over a week so I best be thinking about what I want to take to work on. What is the best way to go? Something simple so quick progress is made, or a challenging project that will be more interesting to work on???

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

Leave a Reply

