Back from Retreat

Standard

So the last few weeks have been extremely busy. My sister was out from Iowa for a week. We had a great time running around the suburbs on a shop hop, which included an Ugly Sweater contest. She tried to get me to participate, but alas, I couldn’t find an appropriate outfit. She, on the other hand, was spectacular! She actually won a gift certificate at one of the stores for her get-up!

Kathy and her Ugly Christmas Sweater

Kathy and her Ugly Christmas Sweater

I did tons of cutting while she was here to get ready for my first quilt retreat. Everyone advised me to take at least three projects so I cut up all of my scrape for two tops and then a bunch of shirts from Goodwill for an Ohio Star quilt I have been wanting to make for a while.

Tons of shirts!

Tons of shirts!

The whole quilt is Ohio stars and because I didn’t use yardage there was a lot of time spent fussy cutting. I put most of the blocks together at the retreat but it was challenging because I was talking way too much and not paying very close attention to what I was doing! Lots of ripping took place!

Some of my blocks made the first day of retreat.

Some of my blocks made the first day of retreat.

I have finally got the whole top put together. No thanks to my furry friend. It is huge! I had to move furniture to get it all laid out. Now to find a back for the thing…think I will wait for a big sale at JoAnns, otherwise it will cost me a fortune!

My faithful assistant!

My faithful assistant!

Ohio Star Overload

Ohio Star Overload

The retreat lasted for glorious days and was tons of fun! The setting in the hills of Wisconsin was beautiful and all of the ladies were sweet as could be–plus they were awesome quilters!

Patsy's Retreat Center

Patsy’s Retreat Center


Now to finish up all of those projects that just sat in the bag all weekend!

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

5 responses »

  1. OH MY WORD!!! That is so fantastic with the secondary pattern created by the colorations. What a great success. This must really make you smile. πŸ™‚ It really makes me want to make on out of stash/scraps. Maybe in a couple of years. . .

  2. a very effective setting! I love that the quilt forms the same block as each block. Brown and Blue are among my favorite color combinations. How difficult were the blocks that made the diagonal lines?

    • This was very easy to make. My only problem was that you have to pay close attention when piecing the small blocks. I ripped out a fair amount cuz I talk too much! And it was a little tedious making the same block 60+ times!

Leave a Reply

