Retreat Around the Corner

Standard

With a four day quilting retreat just a few weeks away I am trying to finish up some ufos and decide what to take to keep me occupied for four fabulous days!

Today I finished quilting a top that my sister made long ago. A crib size from scraps. I used it to practice feathers and other misc designs I have been trying to perfect. I have to say that I am quite comfortable with the whole feathers thing now. Hooray!

Practice crib quilt

Practice crib quilt

I have also finished piecing my french scrappy circle quilt. I added one black circle with a cutout from the vintage curtains I am going to use on the back. I’m not sure if I am loving it yet,  but I think once I add the black polka-dotted border,  and perhaps a splash of red on the edge, it will look better.

French circles

French circles

My final project for the week was to purchase a boat load of men’s shirts from Goodwill for my retreat project. Lots of cutting left to do so I can sew like a mad woman while I’m away!

Hopefully there are no naked men lurking nearby!

Hopefully there are no naked men lurking nearby!

And just to let you all know, we finally found a homecoming dress for my youngest. So the evening was a success – although a bit more expensive than I would have liked!  Why do the youngest children always cost the most??! Pics to come soon, as they are yet to be downloaded from the camera. ..

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

One response »

Leave a Reply

