Medallion quilts

Standard

Yesterday I worked all day trying to get the first couple of rounds done on my new medallion quilt. It was very frustrating …because, as usual I didn’t follow the directions…

My four center triangles turned out bigger than they were supposed to. Not sure why I guess I must have cut the template too big. Then the orange peel blocks were a quarter of an inch smaller than they were meant to be because I wanted the tips to meet. I don’t think they do in the pattern. Had I realized this I would have adjusted the template…

Anyway after many struggles and a couple of improve sashing strips inserted strategically I think I have fixed the problem. Thankfully the next round can be a strip of any width, as it is all applique, so I can get back to the proper dimensions when adding the next row of pieced blocks.

An imperfect start..

An imperfect start..

The frustrations continued today when I took my youngest out to try and find a homecoming dress. NOTHING was right! All of the dress were ugly to her and she was not even willing to give any of the dress a try…. well so be it. Maybe she won’t get a dress.

I am going to drown my sorrows at an October fest party now. You’ll have to check in later to see if either of these situations get resolved!

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

One response »

  1. Okay, I seriously love what your are making with this medallion quilt! I want to do a medallion sometime next year, I’s still trying to work it out. Great job!

Leave a Reply

