So busy sewing….

Standard

I have been sewing up a storm the last couple of days– Even though the weather has been pretty decent. I am getting manic now that I know that gardening time is right around the corner – and that will cut into quilting significantly. I have also been clearing space upstairs in the spare bedroom to move my quilting frame out of my tiny little sewing room. Hopefully I’ll be able to get it set up in the next few days so that I can get some of my flimsies finished off.

With my kids on spring break, my husband and daughter sick with the flu, and lots of housework to do can I keep up with my frantic pace?? Maybe a few less hours of sleep!!

Here are a few pics of the current progress on the sewing projects.
(knitting projects are getting limited attention, but there is some progress on that front too!)

 

Lissa Alexander Low Volume Quilt

Lissa Alexander Low Volume Quilt

The Lissa Alexander still needs its final border and I am not sure what I am going to use on the back. I’m thinking of a really big floral print for a high contrast from the front.

 

Lucy Boston Cross Blocks

Lucy Boston Cross Blocks

These blocks are all fussy cut hexies that have been hand pieced. The one with the blue center is not quite done – it will have a final light brown row around the outside.

Bee Blocks

Bee Blocks

These blocks are for the horizontal row quilt I am making with my new Bee group. I had a hard time deciding what to do – and I am not sure I love these. The “y seams” are not all perfect but I guess I will reserve judgment until I see what my bee mates come up with.

HST's that finish at 3/4 of an inch!

HST’s that finish at 3/4 of an inch!

So I must be crazy! This weekend I went to a sewing convention (which was mostly a disappointment – kinda lame) but I did pick up a kit to make a small wall hanging with civil war fabrics and a couple of other civil war charm packs. I like civil war generally but I doesn’t really go very well in my house so I haven’t made a big quilt in these fabrics. At least I now have a little stash in case one of my bee mates decide they want civil war blocks for the row quilt!

Spider web quilt with scrappy made fabric

Spider web quilt with scrappy made fabric

And finally, this quilt is from the book “Material Obsession 2” by Kathy Doughty and Sarah Fieke. I love this book with all of the bright scrappy quilts. This particular project has hit a stall because I keep getting side tracked but I do want to get back to it. This quilt is foundation pieced and because of the made fabric it is turning out to be very heavy! I am trying to decide what I am going to do about batting…..

Hope you all are also finding time to get lots of sewing done before the nice weather finally takes hold!

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

7 responses »

  1. You have a bunch of very cool things in the works! I love them all but especially your hexies project and your spider web quilt. Maybe you could go with a thin poly (or blend) batting versus an all cotton to reduce the weight of it. Thanks for your comment on my tea towel challenge progress!

  2. My goodness you’re one busy lady! I love the blues/rusts and off white backgrounds in the first pic on this post! Your fussy cut hexes are beautiful. I’ve got a string quilt going but I really like the scrappy look of yours, may have to try to tackle that feel in my next one. GREAT way to use up scraps, right?!

Leave a Reply

