Finally a finish for Friday!

Standard

I am excited to announce that I have finally finished the Square Dance quilt.  It was a Sue Daley design done with English paper piecing.  I love the way it turned out – and so does my mother.  Consequently, this quilt will be going to live at her house where it will lead a thrilling life lying at the end of her antique bed!  She is all aglow at the prospect and so I couldn’t be more pleased!

Squaredance

Squaredance

The photo was taken at the farm.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take a shot of the back (It was so cold out I had to keep running in and out of the house to warm up during the setup.)

Baby its cold outside!

Baby its cold outside!

I decided to go with a plain backing.  Just one fabric – a golden/brown print.  It is a nice contrast to the brightness of the front.  The binding is a dark wine red.  It ended up being a nice quilt for my first applique adventure – now ON TO THE NEXT!

My mom, sister and I are going to be participating in the Local Quilt Store Hop on Feb. 7th so I am hoping to stock up on some bargains to upgrade the stash!

But before I can think about any more crafty projects I have to get to the store to buy some birthday gifts.  My youngest turns 13 tomorrow! A full fledged teenie-bopper (and filled with that o’so wonderful attitude that goes with her new status) and my wonderful husband turns 55 on Saturday!

Better get off this computer and get busy!!

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

15 responses »

  1. Oh what a gorgeous quilt. While you are freezing over there, we have just had one of our hottest summers in history over here in Australia. But we are now coming into cooler weather so quilting and knitting will be alot more fun xx

Leave a Reply

