Spring Cleaning….

Standard

We headed out to the farm this morning to take advantage of the unseasonably warm weather.  It is supposed to be in the 70’s all week (the 10th warmest March on reacord – so far).  Weird global warming…

I cleaned out a big flower bed.  A lot of the perennials are poking out already.  The peonies are just pushing through, as are the day lilies.  We still have a big flooded area in our field so Double Pa went to town and bought a gasoline powered pump to get the water up over the rise so that it will go into the drain tile.  We are seriously considering having tile put in so we don’t have this problem every spring.  If we don’t deal with it – like last year – the mosquito population goes through the ceiling and it is impossible to be outside.  Hopefully that will not be the case this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I got home this afternoon I checked the progress of my seed trays and I see the leeks are just emerging and a couple of the golden beets are up as well.  I am going to have to take the dome off of the broccoli and cauliflower tomorrow.  They are pushing up on the top of the tray now.  Hopefully I will get the tomatoes planted on Thursday.

Got a call from my sister today – she is coming out a week from Thursday to do 4 days of quilting with my mom and I.   Yeah!!!  We are going to stay at the farm and let the rest of the family fend for themselves.  Can’t wait to get back to my quilt.  I haven’t worked on it for nearly a week…..  Lack of progress makes me lose my mojo so I need to get going on it again.

By the way, forgot to mention that Deedz showed her new owl purse to her friends and they think it is the coolest  😉  Peri didn’t believe that I had actually made it.  Guess I achieved the store bought look I was going for!  Chuckle!

Deedz looks like a giant next to her friends - They are all really short and she is SO tall. I think she is as tall as I am now! She is all dolled up here - ready for her Orchestra Concert.

Lastly, Tierney is going out with her new beau and his mother for dinner tomorrow night.  Apparently she is quite excited that her son finally has a girlfriend – she is reported to have giggled and gotten “squeaky”.  Can’t wait to hear the reports….

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

Leave a Reply

