The first of the crops are UP!

Standard

The lake houseDeedz mugging in front of the lake

Over the weekend we spent time packing up the last of our belongings from the lake house we have owned for the past 15 years.  Lots of fun memories!  The move went smoothly thanks to the cheerful help of Tierney’s new boyfriend, Dan.  THANKS DAN!

Goodbye to our beloved cottage Some of the help taking a break

We stayed overnight at the farm and unpacked the truck in the morning.  All of the lake house furniture looks right at home in log cabin at the farm – except the white couch.  It coundn’t make it in the door -too big.  Off to St. Vincent DePaul’s it goes.

The little girls and I stayed all day Sunday organizing and  reworking the bedrooms.  Deedz and Ansley slept all the way back home that evening – and I would have too, if I wasn’t the one driving!

BUT as tired as I was – I perked right up when I walked into the house and Double Pa excitedly announced that I had crops growing under the lights in the basement!  The broccoli and the cauliflower are aready an inch tall!  YEAH!  I can’t wait to plant them out in the garden.

The rest of this week is weirdly supposed to be in the 70’s so I will probably be doing this sooner, rather than later.  We are hoping to get to the farm every day this week to begin preparing the vegetable garden and cleaning up the flower beds.  The crocus are blooming and the daffodils are starting to bud – and the noise of the birds is outrageous!  They are everywhere!  There are a couple of hawks living in the pines on the pond side of the woods.  They swoop menacingly through the trees whenever we come walking through. Kinda scary!

Anyway, not much crafting going on – Grandma and I did get over to check out the quilt shop in Winfield and enjoyed to talking to the woman who owns it.  I am thinking of signing up for a class they have on making a Dear Jane quilt.  G. bought some fabric to make a couple of the purses like I made for myself and the girls and I got all of the pieces cut out for her when we got back from the store.

I’ve been working on trying to get some pictures of the weekend from Ansley’s camara downloaded to my computer so that I can post them here – but, alas, none of my USB ports seem to be functioning?? Maybe another day…..

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

Leave a Reply

