Projects galore

Standard

I have been sewing up a storm over the past few days.  All that inspiration from the quilt show has finally prompted me into action.  I actually finished my first quilt top a week or so ago.  It turned out pretty nicely I think.  I talked to a few quilters at the show but I have not picked out a backing yet- so finishing it up has been moved to the back burner.  Here is the front though –

My first finished quilt top inspired by "Googly eyes" by Catherine Buttersworth, which I saw in a recent edition of Quiltmania. I believe it was shown in show in Australia.

Because I just saw a picture of this quilt I had to make up the pattern myself.  I naturally didn’t get it exactly right – as I forgot to add the seam allowance around the outside of the pieced blocks – and I didn’t realize this until many of them were already done.  Ugh!  Whatever, I am not the perfectionist that I should be.  I did not piece the border either.  Mostly because I was running out of steam on this project and wanted to get on to other endeavors.

Speaking of which, I am about halfway done on the Finglas Farm redwork quilt top for Double Pa.  Here is progress so far –

Finglas Farm Redwork

I started doodling around with free motion quilting on some practice blocks which I intend to use for lunchtime placemats –

Fun new purses!

All in all, a very productive few days.  Now off to get the leeks planted.  I just received all of my planting trays and my pop-up cold frame in the mail!  Can’t wait to dig in the dirt!  Especially since it is supposed to be almost 70 degrees here today.  Weird.  DoublePa is out plowing up his beds today…maybe a little wet but, hey, fun in the field is good therapy after a long (?) winter.

About thecraftyfarmer

I love a project - and I always have tons of them going at the same time - Sometimes it is hard to prioritize, but the usual order of importance generally looks like this: PROJECT 1) My relationship with my exceptionally wonderful husband PROJECT 2) The raising of my four children - the oldest just done with college, the second about to go off to college, a high schooler, and a middle schooler PROJECT 3) Keeping up with my mother and my friends PROJECT 4) Growing and cooking healthy food for my family and friends PROJECT 5) Sewing, knitting, repurposing furniture, or other crafty endeavors PROJECT 6) Playing with my constant shadow - the family (?) dog PROJECT 7) Looking after our house in the suburbs and our farmhouse ........ PROJECT 999) Keeping up with the 12 loads of laundry I seem to have every week!

Leave a Reply

